Hermann Suter

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Sextet in C Major, Op.18

For 2 Violins, Viola, 2 Cellos & Bass

or 2 Violins, 2 Violas, and 2Cellos

"Hermann Suter's String Sextet for 2 Violins, Viola, 2 Cellos and Bass was composed in 1916. He achieves a surprisingly satisfying tonal result with this preponderance of lower voiced instruments, quite satisfying to hear. To begin with, I warmly recommend this sextet for performance in the concert hall. It is a work of the very highest order. The writing is quite accomplished and on several occasions rises to an almost orchestral level. The first movement begins with a slow Lento introduction. The writing is in the free form of a fantasia. In it we hear the germ of what becomes one of the themes of the Allegro energico, which is noteworthy for its spirited writing and attractive lyrical themes. The second movement is a piquant and lively Vivace which serves as a scherzo. The beautiful Canzone which follows is a warm and deeply felt piece. The crowning glory of the sextet is its finale, Allegro vivo con spirito. It begins with a substantial, moderately paced, Poco sostenuto, introduction, which step by step creates a sense of suspense and expectation. Tension is released by the sudden bursting forth of the Allegro, a high spirited Swiss folk dance. Lilting lyrical themes are interspersed with whirling tarantella episodes. For this movement alone, the composer deserves our respect."---the famous chamber music critic Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Chamber Music Handbook.


Hermann Suter (1870-1926) was born in the Swiss town of Kaiserstuhl. He studied with Hans Huber at the Basle Conservatory and later with Carl Reinecke at the Leipzig Conservatory. He worked as a conductor and teacher at the Zurich Conservatory. Later, he became director of the Basle Conservatory. His works show the influence of Brahms, Richard Strauss and Gustav Mahler. Suter was not a prolific composer but the works that he produced were very well put together and first class. Mostly he composed works for voice, however, he did not ignore chamber music leaving three string quartets and this string sextet.


The original edition, long unavailable and which we have reprinted, is for 2 Violins, Viola, 2 Cellos & Bass. Marvelous though it is in this setting, it must be admitted that nowadays, this combination is only occasionally assembled. Therefore, we have provided a second viola part in lieu of the bass so that this wonderful music can now be enjoyed during an evening of string sextets, say by Borodin, Gliere, Rimsky Korsakov and other fine sextets Edition Silvertust offers.


(A) 2 Violins, Viola, 2 Cellos & Bass $39.95
(B) 2 Violins, 2 Violas & 2 Cellos $39.95
(C) All Seven Parts $47.95

 Score only available with purchase of a set of parts

(E) Score US Addresses Only $29.95
(D) Score Non US Addresses $39.95



Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New