Sergei Taneyev

Sergei Taneyev , Russian composer and pedagogue , ( 1856 1915 ) . Studied with Nicolai Rubinstein and Tchaikovsky . Succeeded Tchaikovsky as Professor at Moscow Conservatoire . stock photo

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

String Quintet in G Major, Op.14

For 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos

 "In 1904,  Sergei Taneyev's massive and outstanding string quintet for 2 violins, viola and 2 cellos was published as his opus 14. The first movement, Allegro con spirito, almost symphonic in tone, is filled with spirited and appealing melodies. The middle movement is a highly effective Vivace con fuoco. It features a very energetic main theme, while the equally spirited second theme is, both in its rhythm and melody, of Slavic origins. The huge finale, Tema con variazione, consists of the andantino theme and nine extensive variations. It is an excellent example of Taneyev's extraordinary technique and art. I highly recommend this work both for concert performance and to amateur players."


So wrote, Wilhelm Altmann, one of the most respected chamber music critics of all time. Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915) is one of the greatest Russian composers from the last half of the 19th and early 20th centuries and probably, from this group, the one whose music is the least known in the West. Taneyev came from an aristocratic family that patronized the arts and when Sergei's talent became apparent, his father sent him to the newly opened Moscow Conservatory at the age of 10. His main teachers there were Nicolai Rubinstein for piano and Tchaikovsky for composition. Although he became a brilliant pianist, Taneyev opted for a career as a composer and teacher and soon became a professor at the Conservatory.  His fame both as a teacher and as a composer quickly spread. Among his many students were Gliere, Rachmaninov, Gretchaninov, Scriabin and Medtner. In Russian concert halls, one always finds a bust of Taneyev alongside those of Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms and Tchaikovsky. Sadly, the fame of this outstanding composer has not spread beyond his homeland.


Unquestionably one of the finest string quintets ever written, it has been out of print for the better part of a century. We are pleased to make this fine work available once again and as Altmann writes, it deserves to be heard in concert and will also be enjoyed by amateurs.


In addition, we are pleased to offer this Quintet in a version for 2 Violins, Violas, Cello and Bass. Our bass part was made by Anthony Scelba, noted bass soloist, Professor of Music and Director of the Concert Artists Program of Kean University. Professor Scelba has created an idiomatic bass part that adds breadth and clarity to the timbral spectrum of the work, making it a welcome addition to the double bass chamber music repertoire.


(A) 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos-Parts $39.95
(B) 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos-Parts & Score US Addresses Only $57.95
(B1) 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos-Parts & Score Non US Addresses $79.95
(C) 2 Violins, Viola, Cello & Bass-Parts $39.95
(D) 2 Violins, Viola, Cello & Bass-Parts & Score US Addresses Only $57.95
(D1) 2 Violins, Viola, Cello & Bass-Parts & Score Non US Addresses $79.95
(E) All Six Parts US & Non US Addresses $49.95
(F) All Six Parts & Score US Addresses $64.95
(F1) All Six Parts & Score Non US Addresses $84.95

Please note the size of the score is such that the shipping costs to addresses outside the US requires us to add an extra amount to the price in addition to the standard shipping price which will be added in the shopping cart.



Contact Us



Place Order

What's New