Friedrich Wilhelm Voigt


Notturno for Clarinet, Cello & Piano, Op.75

Friedrich Wilhelm Voigt (1833-1894), not to be confused with the famous German impostor of the same name, was born in the German city of Coblenz where he studied with his father a military band director. Subsequently he studied piano at the Leipzig and Berlin conservatories. Among his teachers was Ferdinand Hiller. Voigt became a military band conductor and eventually rose to the highest musical military rank in the Prussian Royal Army. He also served as a professor at the Berlin Hochschule für Musik. Not surprisingly, most of his compositions are for military band although he did write a number of chamber music works which showed him to be a highly talented composer.


The Notturno for Clarinet, Cello & Piano dates from 1886. It is of medium length and as most night pieces, of a calm and peaceful nature, although there is a brief turbulent middle section, as if some wind were suddenly rustling through the branches. The melodies are quite appealing and each instrument is very nicely handled.


We have reprinted the original edition, which also included a part for Waldhorn, making a few small corrections. We have also made the horn part available.


(A) Clarinet, Cello & Piano $9.95
(B) Clarinet, Horn & Piano $9.95
(C) All Four Parts $12.95



Contact Us



Place Order

What's New