Fritz Volbach

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Quintet in E flat Major, Op.24

For Oboe, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon & Piano

Fritz Volbach's Op.24 Quintet for Piano and Winds dates from 1901. It was originally published in 1902. In three movements, it opens with an engaging Allegro in which horn presents the main theme after which the others join in. The  movement, full of forward movement and appealing melody flows along effortlessly. The middle movement, Adagio molto espressivo e solenne, begins with one of the longest horn solos in the chamber music literature. Accompanied by the piano, the main theme, given out in its entirety is stately and dignified. The upbeat finale, Rondo allegro, begins with a bouncy theme in the bassoon. Volbach instructs the players that the music is to played with good humor and it is quite jovial.


Fritz Volbach (1861-1940) was born in the German town of Wipperfürth. He entered the  Cologne Conservatory where he studied with Ferdinand Hiller and Eduard Grell. Besides composing he served as Music Director in Mainz and Tübingen and was appointed professor. Later, he served as a professor and Music Director at the University of Münster. Volbach's compositions include an opera, works for orchestra and chamber music

Other works for this same combination which may be of interest to you and which we publish are Ernst Pauer's Quintet in F Major, Op.44, Fritz Spindler's Quintet in F Major, Op.360 and Heinrich von Herzogenberg's Quintet in E flat Major, Op.43.

Parts: $34.95





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New