L Weiner

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

String Quartet No.3 in G Major, Op.26

During the first fifteen years of the 20th century, Leó Weiner (1885-1960) was widely regarded as a "wunderkind", winning virtually all of the important Hungarian and Austrian competitions between 1903 and 1908.  Weiner was born in Budapest and entered the Budapest Academy of Music at the age of 16, where studied composition with Hans Koessler. His rise was meteoric and he  Critics dubbed him the "Hungarian Mendelssohn." Weiner was essentially a Romantic composer and his compositions, though certainly featuring modern touches, never ventured into either polytonalism or atonalism. As these trends pioneered by Stravinsky, Bartok and Schonberg began to come into vogue, Weiner's reputation and that of his music slowly receded, as did the music of other contemporary composers who remained faithful to traditional tonality


This faithfulness to tonality can clearly be heard in his third and final string quartet, written in 1938. It is in three movements. The opening movement, Pastorale, though lyrical, is also light and airy. The main theme found in the first violin strong reminds one of birdsong. While there are several episodes of advanced tonality, overall traditional tonality, albeit of a modern nature, is maintained. The second movement, Fantasy, bears the tempo marking Poco adagio. There is a pentatonic tonality which reminds one of Vaughan Williams. The main theme is dreamy and wandering. The lively finale is a Fugue based, on an old Hungarian folk melody.


We are pleased to make this hard to find, worthwhile modern work available.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New