Jozef Wieniawski

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt


Our soundbites are

from a live performance

Unfortunately, we were

unable to obtain any

of the last 2 movements.

Piano Trio in G Major, Op.40

Jozef Wieniawski's Op.40 Piano Trio in G Major dates from 1885 and was dedicated to Carl Reinecke, also a famous pianist and an even more famous teacher of composition at the Leipzig Conservatory as well as director of the Gewandhaus Orchestra. The trio is in four movements opening with a spacious, genial Allegro, full of lovely melodies. The second movement, Andante molto cantabile is followed by an exciting Allegro con fuoco scherzo. The finale, Allegro risoluto e non troppo presto, is full of varied tempi, rich with melody, bringing this fine work to a triumphant close.


Jozef Wieniawski (1837-1912) was born in the Polish city of Lublin, then part of the Russian empire. Today, if he is remembered at all, it is as the younger brother of the more famous Henryk Wieniawski, one of the most outstanding violinists of all time. However, Jozef, during his lifetime, was one of Europe's best known and leading musicians in his own right. His first lessons were with his mother a fine pianist, a student of Eduard Wolff. At the age of 10, he entered the Paris Conservatory where he studied with Pierre Zimmermann and François Marmontel. Subsequently, a scholarship from the Tsar of Russia enabled him t to study with Franz Liszt. For a while, he performed with his brother Henryk, but then embarked on his own as a touring piano virtuoso and was considered one of the foremost pianists of the time. Liszt thought so well of him that they played duo piano concertos in concert together. Josef knew and was friends with many of the Europe’s leading composers such as Rossini, Gounod, Berlioz and Wagner and was a favorite of several national leaders including Napoleon III and the Tsar. Besides his career as a virtuoso pianist, he was a much sought after conductor and teacher. He served as a professor of piano at both the Moscow Conservatory and the Brussels Conservatory. He did not ignore composition, penning a very successful piano concerto, several other works for piano, as well as a string quartet and this piano trio which were very highly praised.


We have reprinted the original 1885 edition but have added rehearsal letters. Long out of print, we are pleased to reintroduce this fine work.

Parts: $29.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New