Alexander Winkler

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

String Quartet No.1 in C Major, Op.7

"Alexander Winkler's three string quartets and grounded in classical structure. They are enjoyable both to play and to hear and they are not at all difficult for experienced players. Already in his First String Quartet, Op.7. which appeared in 1897, we find mastery of form and thematic development. The opening movement begins with an Andante espressivo introduction in canonic form. The main part of the movement, Allegro con brio, is full of feeling and lyricism. In the Adagio which follows, the second theme, full of yearning, is particularly impressive. A spikey Scherzo, which is not without humor, comes next. The trio section begins as an intermezzo but also sports a fugue. The lively and spirited finale, Allegro assai also has a warm and lyrical subject."---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.


Alexander Winkler (1865-1935) was born in the then Russian city of Kharkov (today Kharkiv in the Ukraine) He studied piano and composition locally and then in Moscow and St. Petersburg. He continued his studies in Paris and Vienna before returning to Kharkov where he taught piano for a number of years before being appointed to a professorship at the St. Petersburg Conservatory. Sergei Prokoviev was among his many students. In 1924, he emigrated to France and served as director of the Conservatory in Besancon.


This fine work has excellent part-writing for all, attractive melodies and make a good impression in performance. It should interest both professionals and amateurs. Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available again.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New