Alexander Winkler

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

String Quintet in e minor, Op.11

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas & Cello

"The excellence that on finds in Alexander Winkler's string quartets is also apparent in his Op.11 String Quintet which appeared in 1906. The beautiful first movement, Molto moderato ed espresso, has a somewhat elegiac melody for its main theme. The second subject is dominated by its rhythm and has a Russian flavor. A fleet and highly effective Scherzo, allegro vivace, serves as the second movement. The attractive middle section, poco tranquillo, has a melancholy air to it. The first viola is given the responsibility for developing the somewhat heroic main theme of the impressive third movement, Andante semplice. In the finale, Allegro con brio, the superb technique of the composer is on display. The movement begins with a short, plunging introduction which leads to an exciting and magnificent fugue. The themes are full of rich possibilities of which the composer makes good use. I can warmly recommend this work not only for concert performance but also for home music making."---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.


Alexander Winkler (1865-1935) was born in the then Russian city of Kharkov (today Kharkiv in the Ukraine) He studied piano and composition locally and then in Moscow and St. Petersburg. He continued his studies in Paris and Vienna before returning to Kharkov where he taught piano for a number of years before being appointed to a professorship at the St. Petersburg Conservatory. Sergei Prokoviev was among his many students. In 1924, he emigrated to France and served as director of the Conservatory in Besancon.


This is a first rate string quintet which makes an attractive addition to the concert repertoire as well as to home libraries. Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available again.


(A) Quintet-Parts Only $29.95
(B) Parts & Score US Addresses Only $38.95
(C) Parts & Score Non US Addresses $44.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New