Hans Huber

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Quintet in E flat Major for Flute, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon & Piano, Op.136

Hans Huber (1852-1921) was born in the Swiss town of Eppenberg. Between 1870-74, he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory with Carl Reinecke and Ernst Richter. After graduating he held a number of positions before being appointed a professor at the Basel Conservatory, where he served as director between 1889-1917. Huber’s music was firmly rooted in the Romantic movement inspired at first by Schumann and Brahms and then later by Liszt and Richard Strauss. He was widely considered Switzerland’s leading composer during the last quarter of the 19th and first decade of the 20th century. He composed in virtually every genre and many of his works were for long years part of various repertoires and the only works by a Swiss composer that were regularly performed outside of Switzerland.


Huber's Op.136 Quintet for Piano and Winds dates from 1914. Ernst Isler, the famous Swiss music critic writing in the Neue Zürcher Zeitung had this to say about the Quintet:


"The form and musical language are masterly. The first movement, Adagio con intimo sentimento, begins in a pastoral mood but then moves to an even more lovely introspective section. The second movement, Scherzo, allegretto, is lively and attractive. Then comes a short but very captivating Intermezzo, Allegro con fuoco. The finale, Allegro moderato, recalls the earlier movements in a very ingenuous fashion, creating a splendid, fresh, powerful and youthful movement. This work shows that the music of Huber never ages."


This wonderful work for piano and winds, an ensemble little served, is a must for both professionals and amateurs. Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again. It will do well in the concert hall but presents no great technical difficulties. It makes an attractive compliment to the Rimsky Korsakov Quintet as well as the Anton Rubinstein Quintet, both for the same combination and available from Edition Silvertrust.

Parts: $39.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New