Anton Rubinstein

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

Quintet for Flute, Clarinet, Horn Bassoon & Piano in F Major, Op.55

"Anton Rubinstein's Quintet for Piano and Winds in F Major, Op.55 dates from 1860. The first movement, Allegro non troppo begins as if it were a concerto for piano and wind quintet. Yet as the fine melodies are developed, the ensemble writing improves tremendously and by the time the coda appears, there is no doubt one is hearing a first class piece of chamber music. In the following Scherzo, allegro assai, the piano is given a somewhat virtuosic role, but once past the opening measures, one is able to see that it is an integral part of the overall ensemble. There are several original touches, including an excellent contrasting trio. The third movement, Andante con moto, is a theme and set of variations given a Schumannesque treatment. In the finale, Rubinstein shows he has taken the measure of the group for which he is writing and the integration of the parts is excellent."---The Chamber Music Journal

Anton Rubinstein (1829-1894) was one of those rare concert virtuosi whose contribution to music went far beyond performing.  In 1862, he founded the St. Petersburg Conservatory and served as its first director. His efforts in developing Russian musical talent were perhaps the greatest of any single individual. Not only did he introduce European educational methods but he also established standards that were as rigorous as any conservatory in Europe. Rubinstein was a prolific composer writing in nearly every genre. Chamber music figures prominently amongst his works.  He wrote 10 string quartets, 5 piano trios, a string quintet and a string sextet as well as several instrumental sonatas and this piano quintet.

Long out of print, we are pleased make this superb work available once again. It makes an attractive compliment to the Hans Huber Quintet as well as the Rimsky Korsakov Quintet, both for the same combination and available from Edition Silvertrust.

Parts: $44.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New